The South African
Military History Society

Die Suid-Afrikaanse Krygshistoriese Vereniging

Military History Journal
Vol 9 No 3 - June 1993

Activities 1992

The Annual General Meeting was held on 9 April 1992. The retiring Chairman, Prof I B Copley, outlined the Society's activities during the past two years. He reviewed the extraordinary diversity of topics presented by speakers since the Society's inception in 1967.

Mr M J C Marsh, Honorary Treasurer/Secretary presented the financial statements indicating the Society's sound financial position, pointing out, however, that the membership fee was directly related to the cost of the Journal. The Chairman had already pointed out that the amalgamation of the Journal with the Museum Review, the use of a laser printer and submission of articles in disc format would allow publication cost increases to be kept to a minimum.

Mrs Jennifer Copley, a member of the Committee and several times speaker, was unanimously elected Chairman, the first lady Committee member and Chairman in the Society's history.

The Roderick Murchison Memorial Prize for the best contribution to the Military History Journal in one year (1991), was awarded to Gill Vernon and Denver Webb of the East London Museum for their article on The Camp at Fish River Mouth.

The AGM was followed by a very amusing account by Mr Lionel Bussin of his escapades as a POW in WWII.

Topics for the year were each preceded by a 'curtain-raiser' or short talk prior to the main speaker, given by members and museum staff, a custom started by Maj Darrel Hall, which has become very popular. The main topics were as follows:

Three one-day excursions were undertaken in 1992. These included a tour of Rietfontein Camp and Cemetery and Silkaatsnek in March, the inspection and ascent of the mule track to the Western Buttress Fort at Commando Nek in June, and a tour of the ambush site and forts at Kalkheuwel Pass in October.

The March visit to Rietfontein Cemetery included the Society's handing over of the new tombstone for Bandsman Thurgood, Lincolnshire Regt, to Miss Jean Beater of the National Monuments Council, British War Graves Division. The stone was replaced with funds forwarded from the Trustees Royal Lincolnshire, now Royal Anglian Regt.

I B Copley

Return to Journal Index OR Society's Home page
South African Military History Society /